terewbites.blogg.se

When did glen matlock leave the sex pistols
When did glen matlock leave the sex pistols









He had Charlie Sexton on guitar and the bass player was Tony Matthews, who plays stand up bass. I’m not his biggest fan, but the band he had were fantastic. And I saw Bob Dylan play, maybe three or four years ago and I can appreciate Bob Dylan. I wanted to so something a bit different, not the same old punk kinda thing, which is fine, but not when you’re not playing to the people who did it with the first time around. ‘I t’s a bunch of songs I’ve been writing over the last four years. The main reason I’m doing this is for the new album, which I’ve got to get people to dig somehow.’ When you’re an older bloke you take what comes along and as long as you approach it with a good heart, it all comes out alright in the end. It all sounds a long way from Monday nights in the 100 Club. I’ve just got back from Korea, I’ve had something in India, just a one-off thing, and I’ve had a five night residency in a place in Canary Wharf, I’m going over to Dubai for a gig with Chris Spedding and then in September I’m going to Scandinavia for some shows, just me and my acoustic, which is kind of one down from being a comedian I think. ‘ Well it’s not really a tour, but I’ve been playing selected dates. Tell us about the tour and these far flung dates you’ve been playing. Glen Matlock also still sounds like someone who is passionate about the music he is making and is very keen that it gets listened to. But if you say I’m just waiting for the phone to ring it invariably doesn’t, and one thing begets other things.’ There’s a mate of mine who’s in the fashion business, and when we ask what we’re up to, we always quote Newton’s Law of Motion at each other – a body at rest stays at rest, a body in motion stays in motion, unless an exterior or equal force acts on it, or something like that. I think my maxim to life these days is just say yes to most things that come your way.’ But it’s all part of life’s rich pageant.

#WHEN DID GLEN MATLOCK LEAVE THE SEX PISTOLS TV#

‘ I’ll tell you what I did do earlier’ he says, ‘ I did The Wright Stuff tv program, then I did some Russian tv thing. ‘ Sorry’ he tells us at one point as he struggles to answer a question, ‘ I’m a bit interviewed out today, I’ve done about 9 or 10 interviews so far.’ Yeah, I saw your schedule I tell him, I’m amazed you’re still going.īack on a roll, he continues. When I spoke to him he was in the middle of an intensive couple of days of back to back interviews, and sounding fairly worn out and weary with the whole thing, as anyone would be spending that much time answering the same questions and giving out the same details. To promote Good to Go, he has been keeping himself busy, playing gigs in such far-flung corners of the globe as Korea’s demilitarised zone and the banks of the river Ganges in India. Recorded with Earl Slick and Slim Jim Phantom, it is an album of unashamed, unadorned rock n roll. Glen has a new album, Good to Go, released this Friday, 21 st September. He has played with Iggy Pop, The Damned and The Faces, but the shadow of the Sex Pistols looms large over him to this day. To the point that it is easy to imagine him coming across this article and feeling immediately dispirited that yet another interview with him starts off with that band and that interview. I lived hundreds of miles away from where the program was broadcast and nobody in my school had seen it, but its shock waves had made it to my neck of the woods the very next morning, so we can see the effect this program had on spreading punk across the country.īut, and this is an important point to Matlock, there is more to him than his past. Again like a lot of people, this was the first time I had heard about Sex Pistols. I have a crystal clear memory of a day in my last year at school when I was told of a band who had appeared on TV the day before and swore ‘like troopers’. The Pistols and punk appeared quite suddenly in my life. He was the band’s main musician and was the closest we were likely to get to a Sex Pistol you could take home to meet your mum. As one quarter of Sex Pistols, he was directly responsible for the total upheaval of my teenage world. Like a lot of people, Glen Matlock looms large in my cultural background. Punk rock progenitor and one-quarter of arguably the greatest ever punk band, The Sex Pistols in conversation with Louder Than War’s Banjo!









When did glen matlock leave the sex pistols